When The Humans Are Away…

The Danes will play!! Well.. technically I wasn’t “away”… just really sick! In fact, we all have been sick! Its been about 5 days now and I feel like we just keep recycling a cold between my children and I. Thank goodness I haven’t gotten anyone else sick! I even made Josh go stay at a friend’s house this weekend so that he wouldn’t catch anything. He has a really big conference this week and the last thing I wanted him to do was miss it. We unfortunately missed our Great Dane meetup date last Sunday (It even was a meetup that I setup to host!), which I felt terrible about, but there’s no way I could show up with two sick kids, a sick host and an 80 pound puppy. The thought just broke me out in a cold sweat. So poor Capone has been stuck at home with snotty humans around that just don’t want to play!

I’ve had to come up with some creative ways to keep him entertained while not causing myself or the kids to pass out and I’m SO glad that I bought this pet game a few weeks back..

Capone LOVES it.. well he loves it because Logan always helps him “find” the hidden treats. It’s called the Dog Smart Interactive Treat Game and its made by the Nina Ottoson Company. She has a really large line of great interactive dog games and I know once Capone has outgrown this game mentally, we can move to more challenging ones. There are some that even lock and make it quite difficult so its hours of mental stimulation that not only helps young dogs but keeps older dogs brains still sharp and active. I haven’t gotten around to taking a video of him playing with this because half of the time I’m wrestling Logan out of the way of Capone’s paws so forget having a steady camera shot!

We also got Capone a new squeaky toy. It’s a plush, stuffless snake with squeaky sections going down the body with a little rattle at the end of it. I did get a video of him having a zoomies attack to it..

As you can see in the video, he’s still pretty active and definitely has his moments of crazyness.. but for the most part, he has started to actually calm down. Who knows if he was lethargic because we were pretty out of it in the past few days but things have settled down alot with him.

Absolutely loves hugs from the kids

And snuggles are his favorite

And while he loves his bed…

His favorite resting area is my lap 🙂

And now that the weather is getting so nice, you can’t forget how much he loves to sunbathe!

Poor thing.. once we get over this awful cold, it will be back to normal!

Until next time, everyone keep their hands washed and hand sanitizers with you everywhere!

 Hugs, Val & Capone

Categories: All About Capone, Fun Stuff | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “When The Humans Are Away…

  1. We hope you and the family are feeling better soon Val!! We are sending healing slobbers your way 🙂

    Gosh it’s crazy watching other Dane play with toys, I, Jasper play with toys very similarly to you Capone!

    Lots of slobbers,
    Lexi and Jasper the Danes

    • Hi Lexi and Jasper,

      Thanks for the well wishes! We are on day 6 of feeling lousy but see the light at the end of the tunnel! Tomorrow is supposed to be 80 degrees an no matter how much coughing or sneezing we do, we are going to enjoy the sunshine!

      Hope you have a great rest of the week!

      P.S. I think Danes playing are so cute 🙂

      Val and Capone

  2. HI Capone – so sorry I haven’t visited in ages but I’ve been enjoying catching up on your posts! Your trip away looked wonderful (although we have to say, that liver looked DISGUSTING in the sink! 😉 ) – adn we loved that picture of the frog!

    I’ve got a Nina Ottoson toy too! I got it for my birthday 2yrs ago – it’s a slightly different one, though, from yours. I really like it, although now I’ve figured out how to do it, I’m fairly quick at emptying it! 😉

    And I LOVE that picture of you outside, sunbathing – with your long, long legs (and that cute ear flicked up!) – you are really growing up into a very handsome young man!

    Slobbers,
    Honey the Great Dane

    • Hi Honey!

      Hee hee.. I though the liver looked disgusting too but boy was it fascinating!! How cool that you have a Nina Ottoson toy too 🙂 Apparently they came out with a new line of them so I might pick up another one just so that Capone doesnt get too bored with the only one he has. Funny that you mention the picture that I took because I was definitely using the tricks that you suggested up on your recent post and yes it makes a total difference! I practically got down on my belly to take that picture (which is why Capone was giving me a what-in-the-world-are-you-doing look) and it elongated his legs and made his expression that much more prominent. Thanks for the wonderful tips! It gives me a reason to go out and get a fancier lens for my camera. Oh and just to let you know on a tidbit, WordPress shows me my traffic on my site and I just hit the 1,000 views (woohoo im so silly that im excited about that) and it said it came from your neck of the woods so you might have been my lucky 1,000th viewer. Feels like I should be giving you a prize, eh? 🙂

      Hope you have a fantastic week!

      Val & Capone

  3. He is quite the handsome boy. It looks like he really loves the squeaky snake.

    My name is Oskar & I’d like to invite you to be featured on my blog at http://www.PetBlogsUnited.com. It’s a great way to meet new blogging friends. If you’re interested you can drop me a line at PBU at comcast dot net.

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

