Thanks & Puppy Medals

When I started this blog, I did it more for a way to look back and have documentation of Capone being a part of our lives.  And honestly, at the beginning it just felt like I was writing more for myself or even more-so, TO myself. As the months have gone by, it’s been so nice to be getting feedback and great comments about Capone and how much people enjoy hearing my stories about him. I hit 1,000 views the other day and I was pleasantly surprised at the fact that I’ve gotten that many people on my page 🙂 So a big thanks to everyone who has taken the time to give us a little visit!

Today Capone turned 7 months (all 80+ pounds of him) and we got a really awesome package in the mail! As some of you remember, we took some Puppy 1 classes a few months ago (here is a picture from that post, look how little he looked!!) at our fave doggy hangout spot A Dog’s Life, that included registration as an AKC S.T.A.R Puppy. Well, we mailed in the paperwork and look what we got!

Capone tried to help open the other parts of the package but all he managed to do was bump my hand and make the shot blurry 🙂

This is what he was after…

Woohoo! Capone’s first medal 🙂

Now that we have the basic puppy training classes under our belt, I’m hoping to get Capone into some more challenging (but fun) training classes, agility classes and finally get him into the AKC Canine Good Citizen program. I’m hoping to one day have Capone be a therapy dog to take him to convalescent homes or to rehabilitation facilities so that he can make someones day a little more goofy 🙂

Now that the weather is getting nicer, it’ll be easier to take him to different places and have him experience more surroundings. Speaking of the weather getting nicer, is anyone else shedding like crazy??

Of course, I don’t mind Capone’s dog hair since its grey and practically blends in with everything (except for his favorite blanket/girlfriend). So as of lately when we brush him, which ends up now being around every other day, we get a halo of hair that surrounds him when he lays down to get brushed! I can make a little toy hamster out of all the hair that I collect after his brushing/massage sessions. I actually use his grooming tool to pick up the hair after I’m done since it almost acts like a magnet on the carpet. That’s why in the picture you see a lot of carpet fluff 🙂

I’m so glad he likes it so much and in fact “reminds” us of it by dropping his Kong Zoom Groom in our laps. Its made out of this really tough rubber that is very durable. He’s used it as a chew toy since we got it the first week we got Capone. He probably sees it as his massage time rather than being just grooming time.

This is what we use.  As you can see he enjoys every minute of it and gives us his best “good boy” sit to get his massages 🙂

Eventually he lays down and almost falls asleep while we do it!

Which works for me because then I get to clean his ears..

And my.. what big ears you have!

We can’t forget the teeth either…

After all of that, Capone is happy to get some snuggles from his favorite little boy 🙂

Until next time and hope everyone had a wonderful Earth Day 🙂

Categories: All About Capone, Dane Info, Fun Stuff | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Thanks & Puppy Medals

  1. Deadra

    Hi Val! I read all of the time! You know how much my kids and I adore Capone!

  2. Even though we are fairly new to you rblog, we have loved reading it and look forward to many more exciting adventures!

    O and we a re glad to see you malt just as much a I, Jasper!!! Luckily it is short ortherwise they might be making a jumper out of it *Hee! Hee!*

    COngratulations on your medal!! Look forward to hearing about your training 🙂

    Lots of slobbers,
    Lexi and Jasper the Danes

    • Hi Lexi and Jasper! I so appreciate the great feedback 🙂 Are you shedding like crazy too? I’m glad its short too! I have a friend of mine that has a Newfoundland and she says his black hair flies around the house in little puffs!
      I talked to a friend of mine that works at the location that we go take classes and they are setting up a “nose” work class and we might volunteer to be a guinea pig for the workshop. Capone is really good at hide and seek with the kids so we’ll see how he does in finding a certain smell! Take care and have a great rest of your week 🙂

      Val & Capone

  3. Sharon Gallegos

    Wow, I love your blog, and I am so proud to have played a part in what has turned out to be the perfect family! You guys are truly THE family every responsible breeder dreams their babies will go to!! We have, for the most part, been very lucky with this, and I am so very happy that you share your (and our) love and dedication to the great dane breed!

    • Sharon, thank you so much for this comment. It means so much to me what you said. It’s a little bit like raising children for the first time because every situation is your first and you always second guess if you’re doing the right thing with training, diet, exercise, socialization, etc.
      I’m so glad you enjoy the blog and appreciate your support 🙂 Take care!

      Val & Capone

  4. love that picture of you with your medal, Capone! 🙂 Look at that big smile on your face! We’re not surprised your humans are so proud of you… And you should be proud of them too for doing such a great job with you!

    I love my Zoom Groom as well, although I have a girlie pink one – he he!and it’s so good to get regular body checkups like that – it really helps when we have to be checked the vet as well! 🙂

    Slobbers,
    Honey the great Dane

    • Hi Honey!! Thanks for the kind words!! My young children aren’t in real school yet (just preschool) so this is my first “child” award 🙂 So of course, I’m making a shadow box to include all of his diplomas and certificates. Hee hee! Next on the agenda is either an agility class or a nose-work class. Can’t wait!

    • Btw.. do you shed like crazy come spring time, too?

  5. oh dear! My comment is disappeared again! Hasn’t gone into the spam folder again? 😦

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

