Mom’s Weekend Off!!

I celebrated my 32nd birthday yesterday and instead of presents or a big party there’s only one thing I asked for.. a weekend OFF!! Meaning a weekend where I wasn’t on “mommy” mode so that I could enjoy some of my favorite things.. sewing, playing video games and organizing! Yes, I’m a bit OCD and a weekend of organizing my walk-in pantry sounds like a slice of heaven. Of course, with two little ones.. well.. two littles ones and one big “little” one makes it tough for me to get alot of alone time. And since we were bogged down with the flu and Josh was out of town, I haven’t had a day off so to speak in about 2 weeks.

So last Saturday, my wonderful husband took our two kids to the park and left me with Capone for a quiet afternoon. Well, as quiet as you can get with jumping up and down in front of the living room. I’ve been wanting to start this adventure video game called Kinect Adventures on our XBOX 360 game console that includes lots of physical activity. Boy was I sweating like crazy after only 30 minutes. It was so much fun! I’ve always felt a little guilty sitting down in front of my computer and geeking out for 4 hours especially since it always revolved around having a plastic take out container full of some fattening concoction my husband and I would crave during our gaming sessions. So if I can involve a little exercise and playing video games to boot, then count me in! Of course, Capone looked at me like I was crazy and kept sniffing me to see if something was wrong. How can I explain exercise without going anywhere to my curious puppy?

Hee hee.. his expression and the way he was looking at me the whole time I was doing it made me giggle through most of it! Oh and the items on the furniture was because earlier that day I had caught him trying to sneak a bit of his rump onto the sofa now that hes tall enough to lean back and enjoy a little bit of cushion. I also had my socks on because I wanted to just slip on my shoes after I had a 30 minute warmup and take Capone for a little jog. Well my warmup wore me out!! SO we did more of a power walk since I was so tired after the game!

Afterwards, I decided to start on my reusable tote project. My city is really cracking down on eliminating plastic bags in the community since they arent biodegradeable and bad for the environment and is charging consumers everytime they need a bag or just refusing to provide any altogether. Which is fine with me since I have all of this GORG fabric material and a lovely 6-pocket pattern dying to be made πŸ™‚ Of course I had my helper who made sure not to step on my fabric but was always there to lend a paw…

Here are my finished products.. a mini tote, a medium tote and a large tote/beach tote.

I also made a much simpler Market-style bag as well

I’m super happy with how they turned out and lo and behold I already have three orders to do for Mother’s Day which falls on the 13th of this month.

The following day, we had some work that was going to be done on the house so we didnt think it was a good idea for having strange men come to the house because it would freak Capone out (he’s still leery about some strangers especially men sometimes) so my husband continued his birthday wish command and took the kids and the dog to the beach so that I could have yet another craft day.. ALL to myself.

We recently got tile work put in and the baseboards needed to be installed so voila.. here is a pic of the finished work…

And we were having all of our ivy taken out of our backyard because it was choking all of the other plants. I’m happy because Capone had a habit of chewing on all the vines and bringing them into the house! It looks much cleaner now and it spares me more room to plant other beautiful flowers!

So while I was sewing/organizing and our house was getting a fresh polished look, Josh and the kids took a little trip to Seabright Beach.

Seabright Beach is about an hour south of us and is a well known doggy friendly state beach. It’s next to the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and is really pretty if you have nice weather. It was a bit foggy when they got there so thats why Josh said that it looked like there was a dust storm behind them in most of the pictures. Thank goodness we always carry hoodies in the car!

Driving Highway 17

Can I play with that doggie?

After a nice ride back home..

Everyone crashed out πŸ™‚

Here are a few pics from my bday dinner..

To another year!!

Until next time πŸ™‚

Categories: All About Capone | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Mom’s Weekend Off!!

  1. Happy Birthday πŸ™‚ Sounds like you had a great day!! Also those tote bags are very impressive πŸ™‚

    Lots of slobbers,
    Lexi and Jasper the Danes

    • Thanks Lexi & Jasper! I was going to make some other patterns of tote bags and I came across a Dane stencil that I could add to the front of the market style kind. If it comes out great, I’ll send one off to you so you can tote your goodies in πŸ™‚

      • O wow thank you!! Are they hard to make?

        O also we meant to ask before about the photo’s down at the beach… it looks quite hazey, is that oceans spary?

        Lots of slobbers,
        Lexi and Jasper the Danes

        • Theyre actually really easy to make! I modified a pattern that I liked and added the pockets and made the lining all one piece instead of two seperate pieces.. its easier that way πŸ™‚

          Where we live, most beaches get really hazy/foggy in the morning and it burns off by mid afternoon. Josh and the kids got there about an hour before it burned off.. thats why it looks so hazy πŸ™‚

  2. so sorry I’m late – but a very happy belated birthday! Looks like you had a great celebration… And I am so impressed that those bags you me! I can’t sew to save my life so I am so impressed by anyone who can make those kinds of things. My favourite one is the red one! But they are all gorgeous! πŸ™‚ Looks like a wonderful day trip to the beach as well! πŸ™‚

    Hsin-YI & Honey the Great Dane

    • Hi Hsin-Yih and Honey :)Thank you for the birthday wishes and I’m so glad you like the bags! I’d love to make you one so you can carry your things in! Let me know πŸ™‚

      Love,

      Val & Capone

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

