Out With the Boys

It was bath day and Capone, Lo and I headed to our local PetSmart yesterday for some good ‘ol bathtime. I really like that they have an amazing pet washing center that’s really convenient for big doggies that don’t want their baths outside with garden hoses and only the option of really cold water. Capone just isn’t a fan of water to begin with (unless it comes out of a water fountain) and when he feels the lukewarm water, he relaxes and seems to enjoy himself a lot. Not to mention my tub is just way too small and I don’t have a removable shower head. ย So Petsmart is now our bi-weekly outing either on Tue or Thursday whenever Lily is in preschool. One less child makes a world of a difference!

He enjoys any outing really, especially since he loves sticking his head out of the window of the car, but especially to any pet-related location. The employees are starting to recognize him at the PetSmart store and Capone makes sure that he goes up to every employee there to get love (especially since he knows they all wear treat bags so he can show them his best “sit”).

While on our way to the grooming center, one of the employees that we had met the last time we were there, let us know that they had gotten some really cute leather collars in that week including blue leather ones. I had been looking for a blue leather collar for Capone now that the one he has fits him a bit snug. I promised to take a look and we went to go get beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

Oh but first things first.. we had to stop by the rodent section. The boys are obsessed with any rat-like creature and who could blame them.. the hamsters and chinchillas were so precious!! Something about their beady little eyes make them so adorable. Logan laughs his head off whenever he sees them in the hamster wheels. Capone just stares and tries to follow the very fast critters..

They were fast little guys!

Once we were all done we stopped by to check out the collars. I’ve been meaning to get Capone a nice heavy-duty collar but can never find one that has the double stitch detail, the right thickness, and that is the nice navy blue that I’m looking for. Also, is it me, or do all the thick heavy collars all HAVE to have spikes on them? Or some sort ofย ominousย looking grommets that would look more appropriate on a biker helmet? Lo and behold, we reach the collar aisle and wow, it’s truly a collar aisle!

Capone liked how the metal collars sounded when they clinked together. He kept pushing them with his nose ๐Ÿ™‚

After a few glances at the different collars I found it.. the perfect blue, leather, double stitched extra long collar that I’d been looking for!

This particular Petsmart has a vet office in their store so I love having the option of being able to weigh Capone anytime I want to instead of having to make a trip to my vet since I can no longer carry Capone and find that out for myself on my home scale. And the survey sayyyyyyyss…….

He broke 100!! To think that Capone is going to outweigh me in 15 pounds is kind of crazy and awesome at the same time!

When we got home I couldn’t wait to put on his new collar ๐Ÿ™‚

Leather smells good!

How do I look??

Woof ย Woof! Love, Capone

Categories: All About Capone, Outings | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Out With the Boys

  1. Luna

    What a beautiful collar! I’ve been looking for a new one for Luna as well! Unfortunately, the two pet stores in town (Petco and a local store) have a very poor selection of collars! I’ve been looking on Etsy! Haha. I can’t believe Capone is 108 pounds!! I need to weigh Luna now and see what she is up to! We threw a puppy party back in December and everybody said we had to throw another one when she outweighed me…so I guess I better start planning, hahaha. Have I told you how much I like your banner photo? That one little piece of grass sticking out of Capone’s mouth – so cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Luna!! Yes! Go get weighed! I know every Dane is different and each one develops at their own pace but I’m so curious as to how much you weigh!! Really? The Petco doesn’t have a good selection? I like supporting my favorite local pet store too but I find the larger chains have more selection for the bigger dogs. I did however have to special order a bed for Capone with them though because I couldn’t find one big enough in stock! Someone should open a store just catered to giant breeds ๐Ÿ™‚ Just like Big and Tall stores for humans hee hee. Ooo show me what you’re going to do for Lunas party! Sounds like fun!!

      Have a good rest of your weekend!!

      Val & Capone ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oooh, Capone – looking very smart in your new collar! ๐Ÿ˜€

    My human HATES that all big dog collars seem to have ugly spikes & things too. I mean, fine if you like that look but what if you’re a GIRL like me?? They make such gorgeous, dainty, pretty GIRLY things for little girl dogs but they always forget that giant breeds come in female too!!!!! ๐Ÿ‘ฟ

    Slobbers,
    Honey the Great Dane

  3. Hi Honey!! Thanks for the kind words ๐Ÿ™‚ Isnt it awful how they make no cute girlie collars for the big beautiful girls? I was telling Luna that we should open up a business for just big doggies with cute things for the girlies too! Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

    Take Care,

    Val & Capone

  4. What an exciting outing you had!! And your new collar looks GREAT – our human like to make me, Jasper wear a blue collar aswell, she thinks it compliments my blue coat nicely! I, Lexi wear a chocolate collar, because it compliments my chocolate coat ๐Ÿ™‚

    Gosh you have a bath every two weeks (how do you handle it ๐Ÿ˜‰ )?! We hardly ever get bathed unless we are really stinky – apparently over bathing can strip all the natural oils in our coat and cause funny skin! I think it depends on the shampoo being used though!!

    And wow you are nearly bigger than us!! We only weight 112lb (51kg)!

    Lots of slobbers,
    Lexi and Jasper the Danes

    • Thanks Lexi and Jasper! Its a heavier collar so it took Capone a day or two to get used to it but its fine now! The blue coat DOES look fantastic with a blue collar ๐Ÿ™‚ We take Capone to take a bath every two weeks because he LOVES dirt. If theres any patch of dirt within a two mile radius, he’s rolling around in it. Boys ๐Ÿ™‚ We don’t really use shampoo either. Its more of a warm shower with some good ear cleaning. And who doesnt love a warm shower?

      Love,

      Val and Capone

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

