Pigheads and Playdates!

Happy Summer!! Summer solstice was this week (although it feels more like spring than summer) and Capone also turned 9 months on the 22nd. I’ve been meaning to go weigh him at the vets office but  with Father’s Day, Logan coming down with a cold, Capone’s training, my bag business and Lily’s weekly ballet class, its been a pretty hectic week! I enjoy a busier day than usual and its rare for me to go to bed earlier than midnight, but every now and then I just need an hour of two of relaxation and reflection: enter this blog post 🙂

Since Capone had chewed up his last stuffie (which claimed it was stuffless yet I still managed to find poly-fil on the floor along with chewed up squeakies ) I couldn’t wait to give/try out his new toy. I have yet to find a good toy for him that doesn’t last but a couple of weeks other than the huge rope toy we gave him last month. While its been very durable, it is however the most painful thing if you get caught up in a rope zoomie situation. Imagine a very thick rope being swung at top speed by an overgrown puppy. Talk about some shin bruises! We’ve had a few good head wacks to the kids so we’ve had to resort to that being an outside toy. I was hoping that this would be the solution for a soft/unstuffieish toy. This is what I got him..

It’s a three-way tug with squeakies sewn in instead of them kind of floating around.

Boy, was he excited when he saw me take it out of the bag!

Making him do some “sits”, “stays”, and “leave its” before he gets his prize!

Such torture!!!

My prancing pony and I having a little fun with the new toy!

Good news, it was a success! Its been almost a week and so far no rips, tears, holes or wear and tear! Unfortunately, we had a ton of errands to run that weekend and lots of family celebrations so we had to postpone Capone’s special outing for a few days.

If you remember, I live near an “okay” dog park down the street that while isn’t too nice to look at, is great for those last-minute dog park romps and socialization necessities. While we’ve had Capone, we’ve visited it frequently and gotten to know some really nice people who have no problems having their small to medium dogs play with Capone. You’d be surprised how many people snub us for some good ‘ol butt sniffing just because of his size. They’ll shoo their dogs out of the way in order to not interact with the big, ominous uh.. puppy 😛 Regardless, its nice having some playdates outside of this dog park to get to know some dogs one on one instead of just compiling a ton of dogs into one area.  There seems to be a fluctuation of times that people visit this park and my favorite time to visit and have a dog playdate is in the mornings. I showed up to the park a little early to take a walk around the park so that Capone and the kids could enjoy a little fresh air before we had any doggy socialization.

The kids climbed trees

And struck poses..

 .. and more poses!

Mandatory trash can sniff

Finally we see Lucy!

Isn’t she cute?

Lucy wasn’t really into playing and running around, no matter how hard Capone tried, this little girl was busy soaking up the sun with her owner. While I can’t blame her, we needed to get the zoomies out! So off we went in search of another furry friend.

Down the ways a bit was a very cute and spunky little Corgi (shame on me I forgot his name but I think it was Cody).  He was very sweet and had no problem with my kids but he was already engaged in a game of fetch with his owner and he got a little anxious that Capone might try to steal his ball so we said our quick hello and goodbyes and off we went.

It looked like we were going to have no choice but to enter the dog park.

Which Capone had no problem with!

Whatever cures the zoomies, right?

We feed Capone a raw diet and I’m always on the lookout for some great deals and freebies. The previous day, I had got a call from a friend of mine that buys her meat in bulk to let me know that she had a pig head for Capone and she was bringing it over. So what was on the menu that day? Pig Head 🙂

He had no idea what it was since it was his first pig head but he was giving me his best “leave it” so he could check it out!

Oooo can I eat it? Can I?

While I didn’t let him eat the whole thing, he did have a good time eating the snout and the ears. She did also give me a little beef tongue which will be next on the menu!

Until next time.. hope everyone has a wonderful week!

Categories: All About Capone | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

